The Red Pony


Publicity Still from the film The Red PonySet in the valley just outside of Salinas, California between the Santa Lucia and the Gabilan Mountains, The Red Pony is a collection of four short stories: "The Gift," "The Great Mountains," "The Promise," and "The Leader of the People." Traditionally viewed as a bildungsroman, or a story that follows the psychological maturation of a young protagonist, the collection dramatizes several significant events in the life of the young boy Jody as he learns important lessons about nature, life, and death. The Red Pony is typically taught as early as middle school and is often a student's introduction to Steinbeck and his works.

Teacher Resources

Downloadable Lesson Plans

Peruse the complete The Red Pony in-depth curriculum. Find lesson plans, activities, and methodologies that best suit your classroom.

Curated Lessons

Thematically curated selections from the The Red Pony curriculum.

Quiz Questions

Download quiz questions for use in the classroom or by students at home.

Suggestions for Further Reading

Specifically for teachers looking to dive more deeply into The Red Pony.

Student Resources

Resources designed for student use. Teachers can direct students to this section of the website for further information on The Red Pony. Teachers should peruse this section prior to assigning it to students.